Thoughts about Vampire traits (or: Our Vampires Are Different: The Game)

I’ve been roughly plotting out the skeleton of a game for the better part of the last week or so (the story-side of it, at least - I’m still learning how to code and feel utterly lost, but that’s a different subject). As you can probably tell from the title, it concerns vampires, and since vampires have been so tread and retread upon this last decade or so, that concerns me. Some people might say that developing the CHARACTERS themselves takes precedence over worldbuilding, but it still helps to test the waters and see what people consider instant turn-offs.

The vampires I have planned out might be compared to the “modern vampire” - rather than burning in the sunlight, exposure would only render them dangerously conspicuous due to the refractive quality of their impenetrable skin. I.e. sparkling. Because having them blow up in the sun just sucks the fun out of it, hm? Speaking of sucking, I’ve also noticed that their diet is also a major source of contention, but my idea was to group certain kinds of blood in “tiers”. One could subsist purely off animal blood, but human blood is more alluring, and that of humans with supernatural abilities (or other creatures) even moreso. A “vegetarian” vampire might be physically inferior to human or fae/werewolf hunters, but still superior to regular humans. I wanted to explore the “forbidden” aspect of having one of these dangerous, predatory beings as a love interest - sort of a Darker and Edgier take on the way supernatural romances have typically been handled in recent years. Because for Pete’s sake, if it’s vampires, it shouldn’t be for the faint of heart. :stuck_out_tongue: But that’s just one opinion.

Are there any cliches or pitfalls I should consciously avoid while writing vampires? What are your thoughts?

3 Likes

I have a pages and pages worth of stuff about my own game’s vampires. I definitely applaud you for thinking about it.